The Elita Hawley Scholarship is made possible by the generosity of the Hawley Central California AFS Endowment Fund.

The Elita Hawley Central California AFS Endowment Fund is a non-profit corporation, independent from AFS Intercultural Programs, that awards scholarships to students participating in AFS programs.

Scholarship Type: Need and Merit-based
Scholarship Value: Vary

    • Year programs: $1,000 to $3,000*
    • Semester programs: $1,000 to $2,000
    • Summer (4-8 weeks)  programs: $500 to $1,000

Available Scholarships: Multiple
Applicable Programs: Summer (4-8 week), Semester, and Year programs
Application Deadline:  May 1, 2020 (June- September program departures)

TIER 1 COUNTIES Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, and South Santa Clara Counties (the Steinbeck Coast Area) *Larger Scholarships – $10,000 to $12,000 ONLY for Year program applicants from Tier 1 counties. 
TIER 2 COUNTIES North Santa Clara, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Mariposa, and San Mateo (Redwood City and South)
TIER 3 COUNTIES Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Marin, Mendocino, Modoc, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba

Students must meet the following eligibility requirements: