International Education Week

November 16th—20th, 2020

International Education Week (IEW), is an initiative led by the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Education to celebrate the benefits of international education and exchange. It is observed in more than 100 countries worldwide every November. Join AFS-USA and a world of global citizens to #PassPeaceForward this IEW!

IEW Contests

Follow these steps to make an impact (and maybe even win a prize!) during International Education Week (IEW):

You will also receive a mailing with these instructions and other details to help you make the most of your IEW experience.

Prizes

By giving one or more presentations in your school and joining the initiative to spread simple acts of kindness and #PassPeaceForward, you’ll be entered in the contest to win some AFS swag!

Just be sure to log your presentation by November 30, 2020.

Eligibility

Feel free to customize your presentation, but you must include the last three slides of the AFS-USA template to be considered for the prize.

Presentation Qualities

The merit of each presentation will be judged on these qualities:

  • Cultural Insights – for example, the presentation includes details about your home culture(s) and exchange experience in the U.S.
  • Visual Appeal – for example, the presentation uses clear, relevant images
  • Creativity

You might not realize it yet, but trust us: you’re already making a huge impact in your host community. Thank you in advance for giving presentations, sharing cultures, and being a part of our ever-growing global community through IEW!

Design the 2020 AFS-USA Digital Holiday card!

Showcase the peace and joy your AFS experience brought into your life and share it with the world during this challenging time.

We’re inviting all AFSers to submit drawings, graphics, and illustrations inspired by their AFS experience.
Be creative and design something that best illustrates your AFS Holiday spirit!

Enter Here

Contest closes December 4, 2020.

Want to put your global knowledge to the test?

Take our Global Competency Quiz!

Student Hangouts

Want to connect with other AFS students hosted in the USA this year? AFS would like to invite you to spend some virtual time with fellow AFSers. Find out where other students are hosted, hear how they are doing and share your own experiences. No need to prepare anything, just show up and hang out!

When: Every other Wednesday at 8 pm EST, 7 pm CST, 6 pm MST, 5 pm PT, 4 pm AK

December 2- Click here to register!

December 16- Click here to register!

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Hangout. An email invite will also be sent to you the Monday before the Hangout. We hope to see you there!