Sourced from IMUNA: Argentina is a federal republic located in southeastern South America. Covering most of the Southern Cone, it is bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north; Brazil to the northeast; Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east; Chile to the west and the Drake Passage to the south.

With a mainland area of 2,780,400 km2 (1,073,500 sq mi), Argentina is the eighth-largest country in the world, the second largest in Latin America, and the largest Spanish-speaking one. Argentina claims sovereignty over part of Antarctica, the Falkland Islands (Spanish: Islas Malvinas), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.


  • Capital: Buenos Aires
  • Population: 43.4 million
  • Area (in sq. miles): 1.074 million
  • Language(s): Spanish
  • Median Age (years): 30.8
  • Human Development Indicators (2016)
    • Human Development Index: 0.827
    • Human Development Rank: 45
    • Life expectancy at birth (years): 76.5
    • Expected years of schooling (years): 17.3
    • Mean (avg.) years of schooling (years): 9.8
    • Gross national income (GNI) per capita (2011 PPP $): 20,945
    • Income inequality, Gini coefficient: 42.7
    • Gender Development Index (GDI): 0.982
    • Population living below income poverty line, PPP $1.90 a day (%): 1.7
    • Employment to population ratio (% ages 15 and older): 56.9
    • Internet users (% of population): 69.4
    • Carbon dioxide emissions per capita (tonnes): 4.5
      • Forest area (% of total land area): 9.9
      • Forest area (total change %, 1990-2015): -22.1

Resources & References

Project: Change is powered by Global Prep

Check out Global Prep Argentina